Discover the techniques and practices of outstanding teachers at UBC

Nineteen UBC faculty members share a diversity of teaching approaches in the second annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence event.

On June 9, 2020, a number of UBC faculty gathered virtually to celebrate the commitment, innovation and dedication of their colleagues in the second annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence.

Through our Strategic Plan, Shaping UBC’s Next Century, the university is committed to supporting learning through evidence-based teaching, mentorship and enriched experiences. Our faculty are leaders in how they model and inspire excellence in teaching and mentorship at all levels with a global impact. They are committed not only to the education of their students but also to their sense of belonging and educational experience – making UBC the institution it is.

Professor Santa Ono, president and vice-chancellor of UBC, congratulated the faculty members honoured in this event as a “a tour de force of excellence in teaching at the university.” He thanked all faculty for all their passion and devotion “to the educational mission at UBC, and the way that [they] support our students and each other, each and every day of the year.”

Nineteen faculty shared a presentation to illustrate the diversity of approaches to teaching excellence at UBC, including best practices, challenges, struggles and successes with examples ranging from student-centred activities, flipped classrooms and peer engagement to how they support their students and encourage them on their journey to learning.

Faculty also shared how they’re rethinking student engagement and course redesign because of COVID-19. Dr. Simon Bates, associate provost, Teaching and Learning, took a moment to offer his “thanks and appreciation to all [faculty], particularly at this time for the ways in which that we are all adapting our teaching, we’re redesigning our courses, and we’re rethinking how we can engage students in courses that are running over the summer and over the fall.”

Professor Ono concluded the event by expressing the importance of the Annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence event, “to learn from each other across both campuses, across many faculties and to learn best practices and to share our struggles and to share our successes.”

To learn about these different innovative approaches to teaching, view the video clips of the presentations or read through the following slides.

Second annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence faculty presentations:

Click a name to access their teaching practice slide (in order of presentation) or scroll through the collected slides below.

  • Joanne Fox, Michael Smith Laboratories and Department of Microbiology and Immunology, professor of teaching
  • Cheryl Segaric, School of Nursing, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Karen Ragoonaden, Okanagan School of Education, Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award
  • Allen Sens, Department of Political Science, professor of teaching
  • Margot Filipenko, Department of Language and Literacy Education professor of teaching
  • Ramon Lawrence, Department of Computer Science, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Wendy Carr, Faculty of Education, professor of teaching
  • Deborah L. Butler, Faculty of Education, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Zoë Soon, School of Health and Exercise Sciences, Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award
  • Sean Maurice, Northern Medical Program, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Paul Cubbon, Sauder School of Business, 2020 3M National Teaching Fellow
  • Bruce Dunham, Department of Statistics, professor of teaching
  • Jude Walker, Department of Educational Studies, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Qian Wang, Department of Asian Studies, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Santokh Singh, Department of Botany, professor of teaching
  • Agnes D’Entremont, Department of Mechanical Engineering, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Susan Nesbit, Department of Civil Engineering, professor of teaching
  • Veta Chitnev, Department of Central, Eastern and Northern European Studies, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize
  • Erin Linenberg, Department of Chemistry, 2019/20 Killam Teaching Prize