Instructional Skills Workshops for Grad Students

If you are a program administrator interested in including the ISW as a component of your program please email joseph.topornycky@ubc.ca.

Registration

ISWs offered for Graduate Students at UBC are in high demand and wait lists for each workshop are typically 80-100+. Wait list registration opens for each session approximately 4-6 weeks before the session date. Please register for a date listed below to be added to the list.

Find out more information about our equitable registration process.

ISW Dates

Sept. 8, 15, 16, 2018

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, July 30 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Aug. 10, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Oct. 13, 14, 20, 2018

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Sept. 3 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Sept. 14, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Oct. 21, 27, 28, 2018

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Sept. 10 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Sept. 21, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Nov. 3, 4, 10, 2018

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Sept. 24 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Oct. 5, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Nov.19, 21, 22, 2018

Waitlist registration is open Monday, Oct. 1 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Oct. 19 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Nov. 25, Dec. 1, 2, 2018

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Oct. 8 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Oct. 26, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Jan. 19, 20, 26, 2019

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Dec. 3 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Dec. 21, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Jan. 27, Feb. 2, 3, 2019

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Dec. 10 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Dec. 28, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Feb. 4, 6, 7, 2019

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Dec. 17 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Jan. 4, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Feb. 9, 16, 17, 2019

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Dec. 24 2018 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Jan. 11, 2019 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

March 2, 9, 10, 2019

Waitlist registration is open from Monday, Jan. 14 at 9 a.m. PST until Friday, Feb. 1, 2019 at 4:30 p.m. PST.
Register >

Purpose

Our three-day ISWs are 24-hour professional development sessions designed for graduate students interested in developing and enhancing their instructional skills. It caters to individuals new at teaching as well as those who wish to refresh and enhance their skills. We take a learner-centred approach that may have you looking at your students in a whole new light! Participants benefit from practicing skills and sharing ideas in a cooperative environment.

Process

The workshop consists of teaching practice, theory application, and topical sessions specifically relevant to Teaching Assistants and Graduate Students at UBC. During the workshop you will teach three short lessons and receive feedback from your peers. You will work closely with peers and trained facilitators (who are themselves UBC graduate students). In this supportive atmosphere you will have a chance to begin to develop new teaching skills, to enhance existing skills, and/or to try new and challenging ideas.

Requirements

Due to the interactive nature of this workshop, participants must be comfortable communicating verbally in English. All ISWs run for 3 days from 8:15 am – 5:00 pm each day and attendance is required for the full time.

Transcript Notation

After completing all aspects of this workshop you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion and will receive an entry on your transcript indicating that you have participated in the ISW (indicated as INDS 501).

Registration Confirmation and Fine

In order to confirm your registration you are required to come to CTLT’s offices to receive the ISW manual, and to sign a written confirmation of your registration. Once you have confirmed your registration, you agree to pay a $60 fine if you cancel your registration or fail to complete the workshop for any reason.