Instructional Skills Workshops for Grad Students

If you are a program administrator interested in including the ISW as a component of your program please email joseph.topornycky@ubc.ca.

Waitlist Sign Up

ISWs offered for Graduate Students at UBC are in high demand and waitlists for each workshop are typically 20+. Waitlist sign up opens for each session approximately four to six weeks before the session date. Please sign up for a date listed below to be added to the list.

Find out more information about our equitable registration process.

Eligibility

A participant who wishes to take the Grad ISW is eligible if they are:

  • a full-time or part-time registered graduate student at UBC during the academic term when the ISW is offered
    • Winter Session Term 1 (September-December), Term 2 (January-April)
    • Summer Session Term 1 (May-June), Term 2 (July-August)
  • a graduate student at UBC who has completed degree requirements but has not yet convocated
  • a joint degree graduate student who is enrolled at UBC and another institution
  • a graduate student at UBC pursuing non-degree studies
  • a visiting graduate student that is eligible to take courses

A participant who wishes to take the Grad ISW is not eligible if they are:

  • not a graduate student at UBC
  • a graduate student at UBC who has on-leave status
  • a visiting graduate student that is not eligible to take courses

2024 ISW Dates

February 3, 10 & 11, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, February 3
  • Saturday, February 10
  • Sunday, February 11

Waitlist sign up will open on Friday, December 15, 2023 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, January 31, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

March 2, 9 & 10, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, March 2
  • Saturday, March 9
  • Sunday, March 10

Waitlist sign up will open on Friday, January 19, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, February 28, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

March 16, 23 & 24, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, March 16
  • Saturday, March 23
  • Sunday, March 24

Waitlist sign up will open on Thursday, February 1, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, March 13, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

April 6, 13 & 20, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, April 6
  • Saturday, April 13
  • Saturday, April 20

Waitlist sign up will open on Tuesday, February 23, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, April 3, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

April 9, 14, 21 & 28, 2024 (Online)

4 sessions

  • Tuesday, April 9
  • Sunday, April 14
  • Sunday, April 21
  • Sunday, April 28

Waitlist sign up will open on Tuesday, February 23, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, April 3, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

May 11, 12 & 19, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, May 11
  • Sunday, May 12
  • Sunday, May 19

Waitlist sign up will open on Friday, March 29, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, May 29, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

May 25, June 1 & 2, 2024 (In-person)

3 sessions

  • Saturday, May 25
  • Saturday, June 1
  • Sunday, June 2

Waitlist sign up will open on Friday, April 12, 2024 at 9 am and will close on Wednesday, May 22, 2024 at 4:30 pm.
Register >

Purpose

Our three-day ISWs are 24-hour professional development sessions designed for graduate students interested in developing and enhancing their instructional skills. It caters to individuals new at teaching as well as those who wish to refresh and enhance their skills. We take a learner-centred approach that may have you looking at your students in a whole new light! Participants benefit from practicing skills and sharing ideas in a cooperative environment.

Process

The workshop consists of teaching practice, theory application, and topical sessions specifically relevant to Teaching Assistants and Graduate Students at UBC. During the workshop you will teach three short lessons and receive feedback from your peers. You will work closely with peers and trained facilitators (who are themselves UBC graduate students). In this supportive atmosphere you will have a chance to begin to develop new teaching skills, to enhance existing skills, and/or to try new and challenging ideas.

Requirements

Due to the interactive nature of this workshop, participants must be comfortable communicating verbally in English. Full attendance is required for the dates and times listed on the registration page.

Transcript Notation

After completing all aspects of this workshop you will be awarded a Certificate of Completion and will receive an entry on your transcript indicating that you have participated in the ISW (indicated as INDS 501).

Registration Confirmation and Fine

Please note that signing up for the waitlist does not guarantee a spot in the ISW. If you are selected as a participant, you will receive an email to confirm your registration about 2-3 weeks beforehand. Once you have confirmed your registration, you agree to pay a $60 fine if you cancel your registration or fail to complete the workshop for any reason.